PeVALS

School-development research based on:

Phenomenography, Variation Theory and Learning Study (PeVALS)

The research group brings together researchers from all departments in the Faculty of Education and Society, and is based on the participating members’ background as educational practice-based research since 20 years. The common theoretical base is research on phenomenography, variation theory as theoretical perspectives on learning, but also action research and improvement science. Based on these approaches, the group studies intentional learning at pre-school or school together with teachers, with a focus on the learner’s perspectives. By studying the relationship between instruction and learning processes, results are used to develop learning and design new teaching approaches based in scientific knowledge.
 
In Swedish
Forskargruppen samlar forskare från alla institutioner vid Fakulteten för lärande och samhälle. Gemensam nämnare är forskning om fenomenografi, variationsteori som teoretiska perspektiv på lärande och modellerna aktionsforskning, improvement science, lesson study och learning study som  modeller för praktikutvecklande skolforskning. Forskningen är kollegial och bedrivs tillsammans med lärare, med ett starkt fokus på barns eller elevers perspektiv. Genom att studera lärandeprocesser genereras resultat som ligger till grund för nya undervisningsmodeller. Forskningen ligger i linje med vad som lyfts fram i betänkandet SOU 2018:19: “Forska tillsammans – samverkan för lärande och förbättring“, där även exempel från forskargruppen lyfts fram.
 
 
Svenska läroböcker som breskriver forskningens praktikutevcklande arbete:
 
 
 
 
Medlemmar/Members:
 
Dr Jan-Eric Ekberg, IDV (contact person)  jan-eric.ekberg@mau.se
Prof Mona Holmqvist, SOL, mona.holmqvist@mau.se
Dr Anna Wernberg, NMS, anna.wernberg@mau.se
Dr Nina Taslaman, TS, nina.taslaman@mau.se
Dr Cecilia Segerby, HKr, cecilia.segerby@hkr.se
Fil mag Cecilia Winström. NMS, cecilia.winstrom@mau.se
Doktorand Balli Lelinge, SOL, balli.lelinge@mau.se
Doktorand Christina Svensson, NMS, christina.svensson@mau.se
 
International publications:
 

Holmqvist, M. (2011). Teachers’ learning in a learning study. Instructional Science, 39(4), 497-511.

Holmqvist, M., Gustavsson , L. & Wernberg, A. (2007): Generative learning. Learning beyond the learningsituation. Educational Action Research, vol 15, no 2, p 181-208.

Holmqvist, M., Gustavsson, L. & Wernberg, A. (2008) Variation Theory – An Organizing Principle to Guide Design Research in Education. In Kelly, A.E., Lesh, R., &. Baek J. (eds) Handbook of design research methods in education, p 111-130. New York: Routledge.

Thorshag, K., & Holmqvist, M. (2018). Pre-school children’s expressed technological volition during construction play. International Journal of Technology and Design Education, 1-12.

 Holmqvist, M., Bergentoft, H., & Selin, P. (2018). Teacher researchers creating communities of research practice by the use of a professional development approach. Teacher Development, 22(2), 191-209.

Holmqvist, M. (2017). Models for collaborative professional development for teachers in mathematics. International Journal for Lesson and Learning Studies, 6(3), 190-201.

Holmqvist Olander, M. (2015). Quality indicators for improvement science by teachers as researchers. In D. Garbett and A. Owens (Eds.). Teaching for tomorrow today, (p. 285-293). Auckland: Edify Ltd.

Holmqvist Olander, M. & Nyberg, E. (2014). Learning study guided by variation theory: Exemplified by children learning to halve and double whole numbers. Journal of Research in Childhood Education, 28, 238-260.

Holmqvist, M. & Bergentoft, H. (2014). Regulation of tenseness. International Journal for Lesson and Learning Studies, Vol. 3, No. 1, pp. 24-45.

Brante, G., Holmqvist Olander, M., Holmquist, P-O., & Palla, M. (2015). Theorizing teaching and learning: Pre-service teachers’ theoretical awareness of learning. European Journal of Teacher Education, 38(1), 102-118.